rose outline
rose outline

America’s Top Educator Named Starlight Parade Grand Marshal

Michael Geisen (a science teacher at Crook County Middle School in Prineville, Oregon) is the 58th National Teacher of the Year, and this year’s 2008 Portland General Electric/SOLV Starlight Parade Grand Marshal. “Because of his innovative approach, community focus, and teamwork with other teachers, Geisen was named 2008 National Teacher of the Year by President George W. Bush at a White House ceremony on April 30, 2008,” reported the Director of the National Teacher of the Year Program, Jon Quam.

“I’m honored to be the Grand Marshall in the Starlight parade this year, and am especially thrilled to share the convertible with my daughter, Johanna,” Geisen said. “She’s turning 9 this week, and this will be a fun and unique way to top off her birthday weekend! Nothing makes me feel better than the smile of a child.”

“In having Michael Geisen, 2008 National Teacher of the Year, as Grand Marshal of the Starlight Parade, the Rose Festival honors the importance of teaching,” added Quam. “Michael is representative of the thousands of great teachers in Oregon and across the nation who everyday create the future through learning!”

Geisen was born in Seattle, Washington in 1973, and graduated in 1991 from Kentridge High School in Kent, Washington. He received his bachelor’s degree in Forest Resource Management from the University of Washington in 1996, graduating magna cum laude. He began his professional career as a forester but while this was satisfying work for a while, eventually he missed the direct connection with people. Michael Geisen earned a Master of Arts in Teaching, with a science endorsement, from Southern Oregon University in 2001 and began teaching that fall at Crook County Middle School. He’s married to Jennifer Geisen and they have two children ages eight and five.

Michael Geisen will begin a year as a full-time national and international spokesperson for education on June 1, 2008. For more information on the National Teacher Awards go HERE.