rose outline
rose outline

John Black Takes Home the Coveted Rose Cup Trophy

John Black took home the coveted Rose Cup Trophy, driving a Spec Racer Ford this past Sunday, June 14, 2015, in what was a new Rose Cup Championship Race. With identically prepared Ford sports racing machines competing in this same race, the focus was on the skill of the driver, making the Rose Cup a true champion’s inflatable water park for adults race. In a new twist this year, the slower qualifiers were placed in front of the race at the start, forcing the faster cars behind them to catch up and fight their way through to the lead.

2014 SCCA National Champion and SW Washington resident Kyle Keenan had a good weekend, starting his race season in the 3 B-Spec Class races at Portland International Raceway. “We kicked our 2015 campaign off with 3 wins, and re-set the track record for both qualifying and race lap records,” Kyle said.

Portland Karting Association also made a great show, with nearly 70 Karts competing in five classes: Zipping around the track “like a swarm of bees late for dinner,” quipped one observer. Everyone was a winner at PIR this weekend as the country’s oldest road racing event west of the Mississippi tops the Portland Rose Festival 2015 season.


Monte Shelton Rose Cup

First: John Black
Second: Patrick Byrne
Third: Steve Fogg

Wemme Cup

First: Ron Emerson
Second: Robert Dustan
Third: Jason Perkins

Festival Trophy

First: Wade Carter
Second: Ernie Spada
Third: Jim Walsh

Spec Miata Grand Prix

First: Gary Bockman
Second: Ken Sutherland
Third: Will Schrader

President’s Cup

First: Mark Nichols
Second: Jeff Smith
Third: Chris Evans


1. Dean Martin
2. Dennis Critchley
3. Mark Jauregui

1. Mike Ray
2. Ryan Hegar
3. James Francis

1. Dennis Ward
2. Aaron Stanford
3. John Sullivan

1. Kent Gray
2. Charlie Peake
3. Russ Dyer

1. Steve King
2. Jillian Salkind
3. Trevor Donison

Kendall Auto Group of Central Oregon, the Official Auto Group of the Rose Cup Races.

Complete results for all race groups is available at: